Reflections on Graduation Day

Worth it?

There have certainly been times I’ve wondered why I should have bothered with EC. Did it make enough of a difference? Out of diapers at 1 would have been impressive, but 2? Not bad, but not amazing.

NOTE: for best results, do not get pregnant before the first baby turns one.

Still, I’m relieved to be finished with this particular parenting chore and I have to say, I do feel like I did a lot of the hardest work – introducing the potty as a concept and letting him get comfortable using it – before he was a contrary toddler. Now that he is one, we rarely fight over pottying because he’s on the same page as me.

I have dealt a fraction of the poopy diapers I would have without EC.  Pooping once a day since solids started at 5 months – that’s something like 580 potential poopy diapers to change and scrape off the bum. It probably averaged out to twice a week that I had to change a poopy diaper (though it was seasonal; there were some periods of no misses for a month and some periods of daily bad post nap surprises).  Do that math, and I probably changed in the traditional way about 160 diapers. The balance of poops I flushed easily down the toilet.

This is the best reason I can think of to pick up baby girl, like I’ve done daily this past week, and hold her over the sink saying “shhhhh, shhhhh, shhhh…”

Round two begins…

This entry was posted in Diaper-free daily life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment